Vegan Lentil Stuffing | Healthy & Easy

It’s finally that time of year! Thanksgiving is less then a week away and I can not wait any longer. I am so excited to stuff myself with a ton of delicious vegan food. Before I was vegan I always thought that I would start hating thanksgiving, because there would be no options. No turkey?! What am I going to eat?!

What I have learned over this past year of being vegan is that, I don’t have to miss out on anything!! Almost anything can be made vegan. From mashed potatoes to stuffing, I can have it all. Last year I made a couple recipes of my own for thanksgiving and I didn’t have a chance to share it with you all. Unfortunately, those recipes got lost. This year I decided to give those recipes another try and I made them even better this time. 

Stuffing has always been my favourite part of a thanksgiving feast, so of course I had to make a recipe for that.

img_6157

This stuffing recipe is so much healthier then your traditional stuffing. Full of nutritious veggies and a little protein boost….lentils!

No need for store bought bread crumbs, fresh bread gives it an extra kick. It absorbs all the yummy flavours, contributing to an even yummier stuffing.

img_6159

Vegan Lentil Stuffing


By: healthienut  Serves: 8-10

img_6156

 

Ingredients: 

  • 4 cups cubed fresh bread or 1 loaf (I used french bread)
  • 1 tbsp vegan butter 
  • 1/2 medium white onion 
  • 1 1/2 cup carrot (finely chopped)
  • 1 cup celery (finely chopped)
  • 2 tbsp parsley 
  • 2 tsp thyme 
  • 1 tsp salt 
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp finely chopped fresh sage
  • 1 cup cooked lentils
  • 1 1/2 cups veggie broth

 

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 
  2. Cube the fresh loaf of bread and spread out evenly on a baking sheet. Bake for 10-15 min. or until bread is toasted and a bit crispy.
  3. Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Finely chop up the onion and sauté in pan till fragrant and translucent. Stir in carrots and celery and cook for 8 min or until veggies are tender. Stir in spices and cook for another 5 min. Set aside.
  4. Combine bread, cooked veggies, cooked lentils, and veggie broth in a large bowl. Using a wooden spoon, mix everything together until the bread is coated evenly.
  5. Grease a casserole or rectangular baking dish. Place stuffing mixture in the dish. Cover with aluminium foil and bake at 325 degrees for 25-30 min. 
  6. Optional: Top with mushroom gravy, enjoy!
One thought on “Vegan Lentil Stuffing | Healthy & Easy

Leave a Reply

