Raw Vegan Pumpkin Pie | Updated Recipe

It’s that time of year again…Fall season! Time to break out all the pumpkin flavoured things am I right?! I already posted a vegan pumpkin bread recipe, so I decided to update my raw vegan pumpkin pie recipe I created last year. I admit, it wasn’t the best recipe I have made and there was for sure a lot of adjustments I wanted to make, but never did. So after a year of improving my baking/cooking skills I wanted to post an updated version. 

This time the pie keeps its shape better and is just the right texture. I wanted it to keep its shape when you slice into it and didn’t want it to have a consistency that was like ice…Thats when the coconut milk came into play. 

I know that adding fat always makes the dish a lot creamier and it freezes a lot better, so I added some coconut cream. 

img_5891

I also changed the ratio of spices a bit, as I felt it was a little on the spicier side last year. 

Looking back at the old pictures of my pumpkin pie, I was a little embarrassed at the texture of the crust. The dates were no where near blended enough and the curst kept falling apart. I made sure I blended the walnuts and dates for an extra 30 sec. 

And of course…you can’t forget the coconut whip! Well I did last time….oops. You can never go wrong with a delicious dollop of whipped cream! 

img_5895

Raw Vegan Pumpkin Pie 


By: healthienut  Serves: 8 or 1 pie
img_5888

 

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 2 cups dates 
  • 2 cups walnuts 
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tbsp coconut sugar 
  • 1 tsp vanilla 

Filling

  • 1 1/2 can pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup coconut cream (or chill coconut milk overnight)
  • 1/2 tsp all spice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup organic cane sugar 

 

Directions:

Crust

  1. Blend walnuts in a food processor until crumbly. Not too fine, you still want a little texture. 
  2. Blend in rest of ingredients until sticky (easy to form into crust.)
  3. Press mixture into pie pan until evenly distributed, making sure to stick on the sides of the pan as well.
  4. Place in fridge until done making filling.

Filling

  1. In a medium sized bowl, using a hand mixer, blend together the pumpkin puree and coconut cream.
  2. Once combined, move into a blender and add in rest of ingredients. Blend until super creamy.
  3. Take pie pan out of fridge and pour in filling. Spread evenly with a spoon or butter knife. 
  4. Cover with plastic wrap and freeze for 4-5 hours or overnight.
  5. When ready to eat, thaw for 15 min & top with coconut whip (see notes for recipe)! 
  6. ENJOY!

 

Notes:

Coconut whip – Simply mix together, using a hand held mixer, 1 can coconut cream or full-fat coconut milk chilled overnight, 2 tbsp coconut sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, & 1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional) in a small mixing bowl. Refrigerate for 5 min. and enjoy this delicious treat by topping on pies, ice cream, and many more!

One thought on “Raw Vegan Pumpkin Pie | Updated Recipe

Leave a Reply

