Three Steps to Going Vegan -NO EXCUSES

I know what it feels like to wonder why people go vegan or ask myself how is it possible?! I was at a time in my life where I told myself I could never go vegan. There’s always those common excuses people make to not go vegan: “I love meat too much,” “I won’t get enough nutrients,” “I love cheese or dairy too much.” Trust me I was there. I felt like I could never go vegan, because I would be deprived of all of the delicious foods. 

Veganism is a long process and some people really struggle with it in the first couple months. It may seem hard at first, but I do have a couple tips to help people out that are interested in going vegan. 

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-6-22-53-pm

(theodysseyonline.com)

Do your research!

Doing your research is definitely the number one tip. You can’t go into a lifestyle change without knowing what you’re doing. I looked on blogs, watched documentaries, and searched the web to make sure I was doing it right. I wanted to make sure I got all my nutrients in and knew what foods were vegan. I wanted to know what veganism was truly about.

Most people look into veganism, because of ethical reasons. Once I knew about how cruel the meat and dairy industry was, I could never go back to eating animal products. It truly disgusted me at how bad they treat animals. Cows are repeatedly injected with hormones to produce more milk, chickens are locked in cages and tiny spaces (even free-range chickens are enclose in a tiny space), cows necks are slit and bleed out while hanging upside down, and pigs are isolated from the outside. This may seem very explicit but its beyond true. By doing your research you can convince yourself even more to go vegan. 

Some of my favourite books highlighting veganism are:

If you are not much of a book person, some of my favourite documentaries highlighting veganism are:

Vegan bloggers have truly made the world of veganism a heck of a lot easier. They provide an abundance of easy and simply recipes, tips and tricks, and substitutes. My favourite vegan bloggers are:

 

Learn to cook

I can not emphasise this more, LEARN TO COOK! One of the hardest parts of going vegan is learning to cook vegan food. It’s actually a lot easier, but a little more inconvenient. If you are living with your parents, most likely they won’t want to cook separate meals for you. I am blessed to have a passion for cooking and cook dinner every night for my family, but if you are not a big cook then it might be a little tougher. There are lots of resources online to help you get into the amazing world of cooking. 

I recommend to start off simple. Make easy meals like rice, veggies, and beans. All of the bloggers I previously mentioned have amazing vegan recipes and most of them are pretty simple to make. 

When I first went vegan I had to try a bunch of foods that I wasn’t a real big fan of before. But I love that aspect, I love how much variety there is in vegan cooking and how it will push you to try things you thought you would never try before. You would be surprised at how many meat and dairy alternatives there are. Most grocery stores have a section with an abundant of vegan-friendly food. Most people think that vegan food is limited to just fruit and veggies, but there is countless amounts of vegan junk food (YUMM)! It’s amazing. 

Some of my favourite simple and easy vegan recipes are:

 

Take it slow and it’s fine if you make mistakes

It’s fine if you make mistakes, I did when I first went vegan and I still do. I might accidentally eat something I didn’t know was non-vegan or cross contaminate my food. We are not perfect, it’s all about learning. You might not be a perfect vegan at first, you might slip-up time to time or indulge in something. Just know that it takes time. Overtime you will know that eating vegan food is so much healthier and better for the environment. You feel better and more alive with eating plant-based food. 

I definitely had cravings the first couple months of going vegan. I missed mac and cheese and eggs, but I knew that not eating it was better for my health and the animals. 

Anytime you feel triggered to eat an animal product, go back and repeat the reasons why you decided to go vegan. Was it for the animals? Environment? Health? Those reasons are what you should remember all the time to insure you are on the right path.

Quotes to remember when going vegan:

“If you don’t want to be beaten, imprisoned, mutilated, killed or tortured then you shouldn’t condone such behavior towards anyone, be they human or not.”-  Moby (kissmyvegan.blogspot.com)

“Being vegan helped me realize I can say and do what I believe is right. That’s powerful. Nothing’s changed my life more. I feel better about myself as a person, being conscious and responsible for my actions and I lost weight and my skin cleared up and I got bright eyes and I just became stronger and healthier and happier. Can’t think of anything better in the world to be but be vegan.”-  Alicia Silverstone (kissmyvegan.blogspot.com)

 

Work Cited

“MY THREE STEPS FOR GOING VEGAN.” Kiss Me, I’m Vegan!:. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 Oct. 2016.html

 

Leave a Reply

