Grocery Shopping Tips

Grocery shopping is by far one of my favorite parts of the week, not gonna lie. Coming back home, unloading the groceries, and filling your cupboards and fridge with an abundance of yummy food just satisfies my afternoon.

Not everything about grocery shopping is all good and dandy. Sometimes its stressful, whether you have a budget or you’re trying to eat healthy. For me, I struggle with buying too expensive of groceries and I have found a way that helps me with buying cheap items, but still making it relatively organic and of course…VEGAN!

Going vegan is actually a lot cheaper than you think. I have noticed that the less vegan junk food I buy, the cheaper it is. Vegan junk food means that faux meat, fake cheese, veganeise, you name it. All of that is very high priced, and of course ill buy it every once in a while, but its not really all worth it. I went vegan because of ethical, health, and environmental reasons. Sometimes I question why I eat all these fake animal products because I chose never to eat them again. These veganized products are everywhere, they don’t look the best…but its cool that they are available to vegans. I just buy them because its something new to try and I haven’t had it since I transitioned. That being said, I cant find a good enough reason to go and spend money on products that really are not the healthiest for me. So, cutting out a good amount of those veganized products will eventually save you a lot more money.

Another problem for me is buying more whole foods/superfood products. Such as brown rice pasta, agave, dates, hemp seeds, chia seeds, cocoa nibs…etc. These are all products that are some what hard to find and usually are only available in the health section of your supermarket. If you’re looking for cheaper pasta that’s whole grain I suggest looking at the lower shelves in your grocery market. You would be surprised at how much stuff is sneaking on the bottom shelves. People have said to stick on the outer edge of your grocery store for whole foods but you wouldn’t imagine how many products their are in the center. I have found organic brown rice pasta on the lower shelf in the middle that is so much cheaper than pasta found in the health section. I have spent way too much on agave and its probably not the smartest thing to do. So I have bought it in bulk which saves you a couple dollars. Speaking of bulk, I have found that buying super foods and dates is more cheaper in bulk. Plus, you are able to choose the amount you want which helps you save more money.

This might be a little confusing and sound a lot more difficult, but sooner or later you will get your grocery shopping skills down and you will be saving so much more money. Eating more whole foods and staying away from the vegan processed foods will save you more money. Yeah, Ill buy and eat a lot of junk food from time to time, but don’t we all?! I have provided a typical grocery list if I was to go to the supermarket. This will give you an idea of what I like to spend my money on and what works best for me:

GetAttachment

Produce –

  • Bananas (usually 2-3 bunches, some for freezing)
  • Grapes (rarely because they are ridiculously overpriced)
  • Apples (6-7)
  • Pears (3)
  •  Spinach (in the plastic containers, cheaper than buying organic)
  • Peppers; red, green, and orange. (3-4)
  • Avocados (4-5)
  • Red/Yellow Onions (2)
  • Zucchini (optional but usually 2)
  • Carrots (1 bag)
  • Oranges (1 bag)
  • Red cabbage (1 head)
  • Broccoli (2-3 heads)

 

Grains/Legumes –

  • Brown rice
  • Jasmine rice
  • Quinoa
  • Black beans
  • Garbanzo beans/chickpeas
  • Tri-blend beans (3 assortment of beans)
  • Red lentils
  • Brown rice pasta (penne and spaghetti)

 

Frozen –

  • 1-2 vegan frozen dinners (love Amy’s Kitchen)
  • Frozen mixed veggies
  • Frozen fruit such as (peaches, mangoes, and mixed berry)

 

Whole grains/Potatoes –

  • Whole grain bread (I love Ezekiel bread)
  • Whole grain tortilla wraps (NO LOW CARB, CARBS ARE GOOD)
  • Sweet potatoes (3 large)
  • Red or yellow potatoes (6-7 small)
  • Big bag of russet potatoes
  • Organic shredded wheat cereal (get it in health section, fairly inexpensive)

 

Other –

  • Dates (bulk, 2-3 cups)
  • Chia seeds (bulk)
  • Sunflower seed butter
  • Organic jam (no added sugar)
  • Vegan butter (earth balance, fairly inexpensive)
  • Almond milk (unsweetened original)
  • Coconut water (optional, for smoothies)
  • Rice milk (so yummy with cereal)
  • Agave
  • Coconut oil (great for sauteing veggies)
  • Garlic (in jar, so much easier)
  • Cashews (for soaking, makes great recipes)

 

Note: I don’t usually buy all of this at once, this is just what I like to keep in my kitchen. I will buy it if I run out 🙂

 

I hope this gave you all an idea of what I like to buy. It makes me full and its all delicious. Sorry if I missed anything, there’s so many delicious products out there. Hope this helped you all out on deciding on what to buy at the store if you’re on a budget or don’t know what the heck to buy!

 

Have a wonderful, happy and healthy day xoxoxo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

